Volvo Ocean Race – Auckland stopover

March 2010 was a busy month this year with a trip to New Zealand to photograph the Volvo Ocean Race in-port race and leg start. The concept of the Media person onboard has really grabbed my attention. Its becoming one of my goals to be a media person onboard a yacht/catamaran or trimaran in an offshore race. The Sydney to hobart race in 2011 I was bowman onboard Menace  and did photos and videos and published to the web as we sailed. This gave me a taste of life as a media person. It wasn’t as extreme as the volvo boys have but its certainly got me in.

The week in Auckland was amazing getting to see the speed of these boats, I was on a media boat and our skipper mike did a fantastic job and managed to follow the boats a good way offshore. Overall I was happy with the photo opportunities and the results are below.

Leave a Reply

